Under South Carolina law, when someone is charged with a crime, that person will appear in front of a bond judge who will determine whether to set a bond and, if so, what conditions will be set. The bond hearing is typically held within 24 hours of being arrested. The two most common types of bonds are personal recognizance (PR) or surety bonds-the difference between the two can cost you hundreds or thousands of dollars.
Prescription pain medications are necessary to provide relief to those with certain medical issues, such as chronic pain or recovery from surgery. Unfortunately, these drugs also have criminal uses. Painkillers are not legal for every person. They are only legal for those with prescriptions and in specific amounts.
As a college student, you work hard to pursue your scholarly goals and get good grades. Cramming for exams and hitting the books causes a lot of stress, and sometimes you need to let loose. Whether you are just hanging out with friends or drinking alcohol at a crazy party, you may find yourself arrested because of disorderly conduct.
As a college student under age 21, you may have used a fake ID to purchase alcohol or enter a club or bar. While this may seem like a common and not-so-serious issue, the truth is that if police catch you with a fake ID, you could face serious consequences.
When people think about DUIs, it is usually alcohol that comes to mind. However, you were pulled over when you were taking a prescription medication that made you feel a little groggy, and the officer accused you of driving under the influence. How can it be possible for you or other South Carolina residents to get a DUI while taking a completely legal medication, and with nothing to drink in your system?
There are a number of violations that the state of South Carolina can charge a college kid with when it comes to alcohol. Perhaps considered relatively innocuous is the minor in possession code section. However, it is a crime to possess alcohol when under the age of 21, much less drink it.
Most people will become involved in a car accident at some point in their lives. According to data collected by the South Carolina Department of Public Safety in 2015, there was approximately one car crash every 3.9 minutes in the state. One person suffered an injury from a car crash approximately once every nine minutes.
Courts hold bond hearings every day in South Carolina. Usually, a judge sets bond when an arrest is processed, but there are instances where he or she may deny a bond.
No one should get behind the wheel of a vehicle after a night of drinking. However, a report from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that 1.6 percent of adults in South Carolina drove a car while intoxicated within the last 30 days of the initial report. It is frightening to think about how many teens in the state drove while drunk during that period.
Whether you intend to start college or are already on campus, a conviction for driving under the influence can alter your life dramatically. It can also affect your future employment opportunities.