Your Rights, Our Experience

Dedicated trial lawyers focused on criminal defense & personal injury

Free Initial Consultations

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » DUI Defense – Mount Pleasant

Mount Pleasant DUI Lawyers

Last updated on June 26, 2024

Facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious matter that requires legal guidance. For anyone caught in such a situation, the most crucial step is to secure the services of an experienced DUI attorney.

Since 2012, Young & Young, Attorneys at Law, has offered skilled advocacy and customized services to clients in Charleston and surrounding communities. Our attorneys are former prosecutors who fully understand the court system and have developed good working relationships with law enforcement, local court personnel and other lawyers. If charged with a DUI, know you are working with two dedicated attorneys who will personally handle your case.

South Carolina DUI Laws

South Carolina has strict laws governing DUI offenses, with penalties that vary based on various factors. For blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits, the legal BAC limit for drivers over 21 is 0.08%. Exceeding this limit while operating a vehicle can result in a DUI charge.

Due to South Carolina’s zero-tolerance policy, any measurable BAC is a violation for drivers under the age of 21.

What Should You Do Immediately After Being Arrested For A DUI?

Immediately after being arrested for DUI in South Carolina, it is vital to act swiftly and decisively. This includes seeking legal representation and understanding your rights and options. Taking prompt action can significantly impact the outcome of your case.

What Are The Potential Consequences And Penalties For A DUI Conviction (1st, 2nd And Multiple Offenders)?

The penalties for DUI in South Carolina include:

  • First offense: It results in fines ranging from $400 to $1,000, imprisonment for up to 30 days and a six-month suspension of the driver’s license.
  • Second offense: A second DUI charge within 10 years increases penalties, including fines up to $6,500, imprisonment up to one year and a license suspension.

Subsequent DUI offenses carry even harsher penalties, including longer license suspension periods, larger fines and potential imprisonment.

Will I Lose My Driver’s License After A DUI Arrest?

In South Carolina, a DUI arrest triggers an automatic license suspension. However, with the help of a skilled DUI attorney, you may be able to challenge this suspension and retain your driving privileges.

Let Us Help

At Young & Young, Attorneys at Law, we are here to offer skilled guidance to our clients in Charleston to help ensure the best possible outcome of the case. Call 843-619-7755 today or contact us online and schedule a free consultation. Calls are answered 24/7.